November 3rd, 2018 by

Here at Perkins Motors, one of the greatest joys we have is helping people find that perfect vehicle to meet the needs of a growing family. Experts say a large percentage of vehicle purchases are due to the arrival of a new baby – which make sense as a new baby can mean the need for an extended trunk for a stroller, added space for diaper bags, toys and most importantly, a new child safety seat. Here’s a quick run-down of Colorado car seat laws and recommendations, so you can get on the road quickly:

  • All Children: Keep your children in the back seat for as long as possible! It’s always the safest way to ride.
  • 0-1 Years Old: According to Colorado car seat law, infants must be seated in a rear-facing car seat until they are at least one year old, and heavier than 20 pounds.
  • 1-4 Years Old: Pediatric experts recommend the continued use of a rear-facing car seat, until the child is two years old, and heavier than 40 pounds.
  • 4-8 Years Old: As of Aug. 1, 2011, children between the ages of four and eight must use a car seat or a booster seat, along with a child safety restraint. For the safest ride, keep your children in a booster seat until they are 4’9″ or 57″ tall, even they’re older than 8.
  • 8-16 Years Old: Colorado car seat laws require children to wear a seatbelt or a child restraint until they are at least 16 years old. Drivers of all ages should continue to wear a seatbelt, every time they get on the road.

Even if you know all of the car seat laws that apply in Colorado, you may not be 100% sure of how to install the seats correctly, or how to make use of their safety features. We’ve provided more facts and advice regarding current car seat rules and regulations, so you can drive with confidence. Get in touch today if you have any questions about these rules, or want help with car seat installation! Perkins Motors is here for your family.


Regardless of weight, height, and age, you should keep your children in the back seat for as long as possible. Always use the upper-tether strap (the long pieces of seat belt material with a clip located on the top back of a convertible car seat) according to the vehicle owner’s manual and child restraint manufacturer’s instructions. Again, if you have any questions or just want to double check you put the seat in correctly, just go down to the local fire department or police station as they KNOW how to put them in correctly and safely. We hope this information will be helpful for you, your family or friends experiencing the greatest joy on earth: A new baby.


In addition, Colorado Car Seat Law states infants must ride in a rear-facing car seat in the rear seat of the vehicle until they are 1 year old AND weigh at least 20 lbs. The American Academy of Pediatrics advises parents and caregivers to keep their children rear-facing until age 2, or until they reach the maximum height and weight for their seat. Many car seats can be used rear-facing until your child weights 35-40 pounds. Rear-facing seats offer the best protection during a crash because the whole body (head, neck and torso) is cradled by the back of the safety seat in a frontal crash. They also protect your baby better in other types of crashes, particularly side impact crashes.


In Colorado, children ages 4-8 (through their 8th birthday) must use either a car seat or a booster seat. Effective, Aug. 1, 2011, you could face a fine of $82 or more if you are not in compliance with this law. According to the Colorado Car and Booster Seat Law, children under 8 years old must be properly restrained in a child restraint system. There are many great ones to choose from and places such as Babies R Us have experts on hand to help you find the perfect one for your needs.

According to Colorado Booster Seat Law Children between the ages of 4 and 8 years old (through their 8th birthday) must continue to ride in a child restraint. This can be a five-point harness child safety seat for younger children or a booster that uses the vehicle’s lap and shoulder belt as kids get older and bigger. Children should be in a booster in the back seat until they are 57″ tall and at least 8 years old. Studies have shown the use of booster seats can reduce the risk of injury by 59% compared to seat belts alone. Keep your child in a booster until:

  • They are 4’9″ (57″) tall; for many children this is after age 8, so height is the safest guideline
  • The shoulder belt of the car’s seat belt crosses her shoulder and chest (not her neck)
  • The lap belt crosses the upper thighs (not the abdomen)
  • Their knees bend at the edge of the back seat and her feet dangle down
  • They can stay seated like this for the entire trip


Finally, Colorado Law states children between the ages of 8 and 16 (through their 16th birthday) must use a seatbelt or child restraint (and common sense says teach your children to wear seatbelts ALL their lives).


In Colorado, motor vehicle crashes kill more kids than any other cause of death. It is a shocking fact that 4 out of 5 car seats are used incorrectly. Make sure you are following the current Colorado car seat law and the safest practices for your child so you can enjoy Denver attractions, like our favorite brunch spots, with greater peace of mind. If you are unsure if you put the car seat in correctly, police stations and fire departments across Colorado Springs can help you put it in and also teach you how to do it if you need to move the seat to another vehicle.

Following these guidelines should help you know when your child can safely stop using the booster. Remember to keep your child in the back seat as long as possible, until at least age 13 and 100 pounds. If your teenager is in the front seat, put the seat as far back as possible in case the airbag deploys in an accident. Also it is important to note that children learn by watching their parents, and this includes good driving habits – so be sure to ALWAYS wear your seatbelt so you are a great example for your little ones. You never know when someone will run a red light or sadly, be texting while driving – crashes are awful but using these techniques could possible reduce damage.

Perkins Motors want ALL ages of car drivers and passengers to be safe at ALL times and knowing how to install a car seat for your most valuable cargo and understanding the law (which is designed to keep you safe) is a good place to start.


At Perkins Motors, we want to do more than make you an expert on Colorado seat belt law–it’s our goal to keep you and your loved ones safe when you’re behind the wheel! That’s why we offer a fine selection of new Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, RAM, and FIAT models that offer the latest in safety engineering and technology. With advanced tech like the Full-Speed Forward Collision Warning, and carefully engineered safety solutions like the Solid Safety Frame, you’ll find that the vehicles offered at Perkins Motors will do more to keep your family safe. Take a look at Chrysler Pacifica configurations or the Jeep Cherokee interior to find a great family car with all the features you need.

Whether you have a question about Colorado seat belt law, a specific safety feature found in a Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, RAM or FIAT, or any model found on out online inventory, the team at Perkins Motors is always willing to help you stay safe while on the road. Remember to always buckle up, and have a safe trip from Pueblo to Castle Rock!

Posted in Info